List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Turkey

List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Turkey

UNESCO aims to protect values that are the common heritage of humanity and universal ones and lists the most precious examples from the traces left by different cultures, civilizations, religions, and historical periods in global culture in the World Cultural Heritage List.

About Göbeklitepe

In our country, there are many cultural and natural assets within the scope of the UNESCO World Heritage List. Turkey is a member since 1983 and Turkey has been accepted at least one permanent cultural heritage list every year as of 2014. Turkey increased the number of permanent heritage from 17 to 18 with the inclusion of Göbeklitepe on the permanent list in 2018, it. For this reason, Turkey gave its name to Göbeklitepe in 2019. While 16 of these 18 different heritages are cultural, the other two have both cultural and natural characteristics.

Here are the treasures of Turkey on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List:

  1. Divriği Great Mosque and Hospital, Sivas (1985)
  2. Historic Areas of Istanbul (1985)
  3. Göreme National Park and Cappadocia, Nevşehir (1985)
  4. Hattusha: The Hittite Capital, Corum (1986)
  5. Mount Nemrut, Adıyaman (1987)
  6. Hieropolis-Pamukkale, Denizli (1988) (Mixed Heritage Site)
  7. Xanthos-Letoon, Antalya-Muğla (1988)
  8. Safranbolu, Karabuk (1994)
  9. Troy Archaeological Site, Çanakkale (1998)
  10. Selimiye Mosque and Complex, Edirne (2011)
  11. Çatalhöyük Neolithic Site, Konya (2012)
  12. Bursa and Cumalıkızık: The Birth of the Ottoman Empire (2014)
  13. Bergama Multi-Layered Cultural Landscape Area, İzmir (2014)
  14. Diyarbakır City Walls and Hevsel Gardens Cultural Landscape (2015)
  15. Ephesus Ancient City, İzmir (2015)
  16. Ani Archaeological Site, Kars (2016)
  17. Aphrodisias Ancient City, Aydın (2017)
  18. Göbeklitepe, Şanlıurfa (2018)

Detailed list for sites in Turkey

United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization is an expansion of UNESCO. Its purpose is to establish cooperation and intersection among members of the United Nations in the fields of education, science, and culture. Detailed information can be found on the official Unesco website of the World Heritage Center,

Join The Discussion

Compare listings